Sick Dog Makes For Fun Times… yay

Unfortunately not much has happened as far as training since I last posted, however that is because Saria suddenly fell sick. She just was not feeling up to doing much past sleeping for the majority of the week, and admittedly the time before that I was a little low on energy myself. Sue me. But anyways everything is alright now, she is back to driving myself and the family up the wall as a result we will be jumping back into training head first in the morning. Spoiler alert, the culprit was food allergies which is common in Chocolate labs like Saria.

I had stayed up late for one reason or another on Monday, likely watching youtube on my laptop or doing something on facebook. Either way it is unimportant, because I was on my way to finally settling into sleep when Saria got up and started to vomit on the carpet in my bedroom floor. Let me tell you, as a new Mom to a dog that my own parents relate heavily to a toddler I am not particularly equipped for this situation. Especially when the situation in question is cleaning up a warm pile of partially digested food, and then your own because you are a sympathy puker. I can tell you I was not impressed by our combined work at midnight.Nonetheless, I had it cleaned up and was back in bed in decent time. However Saria got up again, just as I my brain was settling into sleep. Yup. More vomit. This repeated with the exception of my own body getting rid of my lovely dinner, until about an hour and a half before I had to wake up. For what? I do not know. But wake up was not 9am like grew accustomed to.

Anyways, after taking Saria out for a morning walk and grabbing a breakfast to waken myself up more effectively, I told Mom what happened and asked for advice on better cleaning up the mess. Which she thankfully agreed to take care of for me, seeing as I was exhausted and not known for cleaning to her standards to begin with. Let’s just say I am content to live in my own filth if it weren’t for not wanting my junk damaged by a dog. More barfing, added to diarrhea and refusing food or water, had both of us concerned and a call to the vet was made. For reference this is not the first time that Saria barfed overnight, usually it is a couple times and done. We had up until this point thought her everyday diet was fine, and that she was reacting to new treats.

This was a whole new level for her, and I feel like mentioning this now but it was the first time in a long time she did not sleep in bed with me. We are not sure if it had to do with feeling weak, pain in her abdomen making her not want to jump up or if maybe it was too hot with me, but the vet did note that she is hard to read when it comes to pain or curiosity.

Back to the story, we quickly ended up locked in the kitchen with some fluids, two dog beds, a blanket and some entertainment for me. She slept almost all day, the barfing stopped for the most part but that did not mean I was cancelling the last minute vet appointment. Unfortunately we got the vet who only seems to want to put a bandaid on the ongoing stomach issues as she was the only one working at the time. After much pushing we did finally get her to agree to a series of blood tests, and if that came back clear an ultra sound. Which the blood work was of course clear. The medicine was working, Saria had stopped barfing completely and started eating a little bit and even less drinking. But even though we were seeing improvement, I was not willing to let this go without trying our hardest to find the root cause. So unfortunately, Saria was taken off of food the the day after she started eating again but she needed an empty stomach for a clear image. Without going into much detail, what was seen by the vet convinced him that we were more than likely dealing with a food allergy. And yes, the second visit we got the vet we like.

So now, we have a plan to clear this up once and for all, so that hopefully I can stop throwing all of my money at the vet. Seriously, vet bills can add up quickly and my next dog will be coming from a breeder who health tests their dogs, in an attempt to reduce the likelihood that the next dog is genetically predisposed to fewer health issues. I do not think I can afford this many vet bills for the long run.

 

Leave a Reply

